Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The issue of the reasons of learning a foreign language have become a prominent point of contention in modern discourse. While one group advocates that going abroad to work or travel is the only cause, another group argues that other reasons also arouse people to learn it. From my perspective, I believe that the second viewpoint is more worthy of agreement. On the one hand, those who support that travel or work is the major reason have valid points. Firstly, commanding a foreign language could promote people's integration in a newly environment, which is the most vital thing for individuals to travel or work abroad. For example, if someone is eager to work in England, learning English enables him to communicate with local residents and get rapid familiar with their lifestyles, thus drawing them strong attention to learn it before working there. In addition, other matters related to foreign countries might be unnecessary to learn a language. For instance, rather than learning a extra language to admire an extraodinary artwork or film, it is accessible online with subtitles. On the other hand, proponents of other reasons also have their own justifications. Learning another language not only allows us to foster personal development, broadening people's horizons to the world, but enables people to experience variety cultures deeply. For example, in the process of learning a new language, people gradually come to understand the way they thought, promoting their critical thinking to think about problems from multiple perspectives. Moreover, one will have a deeper insight in different culture if he could master related language, because it can release the gap between them. However, regarding personal development, causes like strong willing to experience exotic cultures also offer the key motivations. Therefore, I believe that other reasons are equally important. In conclusion, although traveling or working abroad play a vital role in inspiring individuals to learn another language, it is not the only reason. Apart from this, maturing a language also benefits us in diversity aspects, such as culture and art. As a result, it is advisable to encourage people to learn a foreign language.