Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic. Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

With the advancement in technology, scientists have invented vaccines that can be used to prevent a lot of childhood diseases. Some people argue that it should be mandatory to protect their children from known diseases while others argue that parents should have the liberty to choose not to make their young ones immune to common diseases. In my opinion, it should be compulsory for parents to vaccinate their kids against common diseases. Firstly, the research and development department has worked extremely hard for years to manufacture some vaccinations that can prevent certain diseases in children during their childhood. For example, in India, there are vaccines available for chicken pox, polio, etc. Some diseases can leave a lifetime impact on an individual such as polio. If this can be avoided easily by just taking a few drops of the medicine, then why not make it a rule? In addition, it would reduce the risk of young ones getting infected by these diseases. Secondly, if this is made mandatory, there would be a time when the country would be free of such diseases. For instance, in India, government employees not only visit each and every house to check for newborns but also vaccinate them. As a result of which, it has become a country that has no new polio cases. This would help in creating a very healthy youth for the nation in the future. Besides, the kids can lead a normal and healthy life. To conclude, if toddlers can be prevented against common diseases which would keep them healthy, then a law should be made for parents to immunise their kids. However, it can be avoided if the kid is allergic to any drug.