Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.  Disucss both views and give your own opinion.

Engaging children in a sensible way of competition will help in developing their intellectual and cognitive abilities. While some believe competition acts as a positive encouragement to children, others believe teaching cooperative techniques will play a much better role in making better functioning resourceful adults. In this essay, I will elaborate on both of these views and finally, conclude with my opinion. Firstly, the children who are taught to be cooperative are able to build tight relationships with their colleagues and will successfully achieve their targets. Thus, being a cooperative citizen is advantageous when their future endeavours require teamwork. However, as they give much importance to cooperation, they seem to be afraid of taking risks. For instance, in a famous factory outlet in China, employees were treated harshly but only a few of them stood up for themselves risking their careers. Others co-operated with managers but still chose to live in the same harsh environment. So, as explained sometimes co-operation is disadvantageous. It is evident that healthy competition is a driving force for success. When kids are challenged they try to think above and beyond. This results in an upgrade of intellectual, cognitive and behavioural abilities at a cerebral level. If there is no presence of competition, they will have lazy brain syndrome because of not being able to exercise their minds. So challenging competitions will transform better-functioning adults for the future. On the contrary, too much competition is not good physically and mentally. Although engaging in challenging and insightful activities will spark their brain to improve every day, their ability to withstand pressure is still in question. Too much competition will result in depression and suicidal attempts. In conclusion, in my opinion, having healthy competition which positively impacts children and embedding co-operative skills in their life in a balance will form much better adults for the future.