In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays advertisement in business becomes a more and more powerful and essential instrument which is used to increase sales and profitability in general. Additionally, businesses use it to deliver a clear message to their customers that their products are new in some way. This behaviour has several reasons which will be illustrated in this essay, and, in my opinion, it is a definitely positive development. There are two main issues that force companies to emphasise that their goods are new. In the modern world, people get used to changing things much more frequently than decades ago. For instance, the new research which was conducted several months ago shows that mobile phones are changed by their users every two years in general. So that means, that if companies desire to increase their sales they need to produce new types of their products or, at least, tell that it is new through their commercial. Moreover, most members of modern society try to be up-to-date, thus they need always possess new and fashionable things, no matter if it is clothes or technics. Therefore, emphasising this fact efficiently attracts the attention of those customers to products, consequently increasing sales. However, emphasising this fact in their commercial, in some cases might be misleading for some people, and force them to do unnecessary purchases, I strongly believe, that this is a positive development, because, firstly it helps consumers to understand the difference between similar, from the first glance, products, and find out which are up-to-date. And additionally, this strategy in advertisement lets producers level up their sales, therefore increasing profits and again investing money in the development of new and modern products. To conclude, the main simple causes for companies to highlight the fact that their products are new, are increasing their sales by selling more units and trying to reach those users who want to be modern. I think that this trend of highlighting that your product is a new one is a beneficial development for society in general.