In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, there is a significant increase in the production of plastic bags all around the world. Some argues shopping bags made from plastic should be banned as it contributes to pollution, while others claim they are important for every day uses. In my opinion, the use of plastic bags should not be encouraged and this essay will discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs. To begin, plastic bags have an adverse effect on the ecosystem and biodiversity. Since most plastics are non-biodegradable, it remains in the environment for a long period of time. Moreover, plastic bags are usually thrown away in rivers which poses a great threat on fishes as they might feed on them. A recent survey, for example, showed that there is a 60% increase in water pollution due to inorganic bags thrown into sea water in the last few decades. Thus, there is a need to reduce this trend. Although plastic bags can be very dangerous for the environment, there are reasons that made such items popular. Firstly, plastic bags can be purchased at a very affordable price. The raw ingredients are easily accessible and plastic factories are quite common in many countries. Furthermore, due to their light weight and flexibility, they are convenient to carry items and groceries in a regular day to day life. The only way to prohibit the use of these materials is to enforce a strict law which would help reduce the number of carry bags. In conclusion, I believe the distribution of plastic bags on shops and markets must be restricted by imposing a fine on the production of these materials. Alternative items such as biodegradable bags should be encouraged to replace plastic bags.