Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can be better for their overall skills development and creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree?

Opinions are divided on whether the most efficient way to comprehensively facilitate a child’s skills and creativity is to participate in enjoyable activities or if they should get engaged in reading to achieve such a goal. Although the latter offers certain advantages, the former is more beneficial for children. Admittedly, parents who spend time reading to their children can help enhance their cognitive development at a young age, especially language acquisition. For example, infants can have opportunities to perceive and comprehend the language when listening to fairy tales and attempting to understand the stories’ moral messages. Therefore, this practice can provide the young with an amount of linguistic input of which they can take advantage to communicate and write in the future. In addition, a child's creativity can also be developed via exposure to imaginative works like imaginative drawings, creative rhymes and socially conscious plotlines which they usually emulate to create their own writing and artwork later. However, an enjoyable activity is more engaging and less passive than reading, which can lead children to become more creative and able to develop their abilities. To be more specific, they can participate in a number of pastimes ranging from playing sports, socializing, creating artwork and travelling. Teaching youngsters to play soccer, for instance, can provide them with some choices to employ different strategies for their own styles and learn how to be disciplined and dedicated when losing. Moreover, other skills such as cooperation, problem-solving and critical thinking can also be fostered in these appealing activities. In conclusion, despite the legitimate benefits of reading including cognitive development and imagination, these advantages are far eclipsed by the ones of a more active undertaking because it helps develop a wider range of skills and more opportunities for their creativity to flourish.