Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many different types of research have come to the conclusion that one's personality and development are influenced by either their innate characteristic or by their collection of experiences during their lifetime. In this essay, I will analyze which influences the most in one's personality and development. Firstly, since birth, we have been on a learning curve. Some experiences will impact our lives in a positive aspect resulting in better-functioning adults. We would not excel at our work if we did not have a failure once in a while. For instance, when I was in high school, I was able to pass my chemistry exams with flying colours after flunking two consecutive mock tests. Then, I decided to find my strengths and weaknesses and use my past experience of failing to score a higher grade in my finals. So, it is evident that one can change their personality and upgrade their life by learning from their experiences. However, the genetic derivation of characteristics also plays a key role. Some of the personality traits cannot be achieved by life experiences as it is gifted from either the paternal or maternal side. This is exemplified by one of the researches done in Sweden where 70% of students of great leaders were reported to follow the same pathway as their parents. So, as you can see those students have been carrying their parental genes in themselves throughout their lives. In conclusion, the personality and development of a person is an accumulation of both experiences and innate characteristics and both of them equally engage and influence building a well-developed human with a great personality.