The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books as they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive high tech media , such as computer software, videos and DVD's . To what extent do you agree or disagree with this segment?

Public libraries should put their main financial, staff and space resources on normal books rather than on those expensive devices like computer software or videos. As far as i am concerned, I agree with this point. In recent years, people are increasingly willing to gain information from phone or laptop as they are convenient and quick. Unfortunitally, some computer softwares or videos is not free to ues and some people like students can not afford that. Hence, it will be very useful and helpful if these high tech media can be found in public libraries. However, it will cost a lot of money for public libreries to purchase and maintain this equipments and also more time on stuff training. Generally speaking, public libraries do not have strong financial support and shortage of stuff is also a common problem for them. According to a study in Korea, more than 70% people are still like to read papper-based books and the majority of visitors of public libraries are general public like local residents who normally read newspaper or some academic books. Therefore demand of high tech media for these people may not high enough to let public libraries to put their limited money on these devices. In conclusion. high tech media is bacoming more and more popular but the main goal of public libraries should still focus on meet Change the form of the verb meeting show examples the demand of general public to provide more books to them.