In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Car ownership has increased in many nations. It has both advantages and setbacks. Although it helps in better transportation for the speedy movement of people living in villages and hills, it has severe impacts on the environment. Four-wheelers help in travelling to hill stations and the countryside, where other modes of transportation, such as railways and aeroplanes are not available. In other words, in many hill stations, it is not possible to connect them through railways due to the lack of space on mountains and the risk of construction; thus, going to these places is only possible with a Four-wheeler. For example, In Himachal Pradesh and Uttarakhand, owning a car is mandatory for people living there because travelling by road is the only option available. On the other side, there are plenty of harmful impacts on the environment from having numerous cars on the road. That is to say that diesel and petrol cars emit toxic manmade gases such as hydroxide, which deplete the ozone layer and increase global warming. Therefore, we should leave a better planet for our future generations with fewer air pollutants. For example, in research, it is found that vehicle pollution is the major reason behind New Delhi’s bad air quality issue as the number of private owned car owners has risen in the city in the last decade, contributing around 60% of the total air pollution. In conclusion, Even though owning a car is mandatory in some parts of the world, such as mountains, it leaves a severe irreversible impact on the environment.