In the 21st century, the average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some solutions that could be taken to reduce the effect of aging populations.

These days, we are facing a range of new challenges for both individuals and society as we live longer than ever before. Although we have to deal with this problem in more efficient ways, we have the opportunity to make a far more smooth transition into the future. A significant majority of this problem with a longer average life span is the health of aged people and the shortfall in tax revenues. Elderly citizens are hard to avoid suffering from various diseases. Also, most of the countryside does not have sufficient medical facilities such as hospitals and medical personnel to meet the demand for patients. In addition, it is hard to maintain securing tax revenue for governments due to the decreasing number of economically active populations. For instance, in South Korea, the bulk of employees are forced to retire at the age of 60 or earlier. This might lead to a huge burden to the country when imposing less tax get bigger than spending more welfare budget. However, it is fully possible to fix these problems if we have the desire to take responsibility. First of all, Encouraging elderly people to do more exercise and eat a well-balanced diet is the most radical method followed by improving the medical sector. This is because prevention is always better than cure. Correspondingly, to prevent the shortage of national taxes, we need to re-assess the pension and retirement system for an ageing society. By recognizing the rights and dignity of senior citizens and enacting the retirement age extension policy, they could be economically active for longer. This would help reduce the potential of poverty among seniors and also boost the nation as a whole. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are many different troubles associated with a longer average life expectancy, and we need to take steps as a nation as well as the elderly themselves to clear up this phenomenon.