Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?

With the proliferation of high-tech media, some people hold the opinion that public libraries would be rendered obsolete if they do not provide advanced software’s to their users while others asserts that it is wastage of public money. This essay will substantiate views further in the upcoming paragraphs. High-tech media is, in many ways, indeed superior to the books in terms of functionality, entertainment, attraction. For instance, videos and DVD functions as a visual means to assist people to have a first hand experience even though those people have not physically visited and observed that object which are introduced in the books. More importantly, software helps the library goers to update their knowledge daily basis; on the contrary, books take multiple months to be published which in turn render their content outdated in some extent. In addition, now a days computer learning become an essential skill, thus, public library must assist students to learn about computer in the library. Moreover, it is a common practice for public libraries to share their resources via the internet. Sometimes, people find their book in another library. They can request the librarian to send this book through the internet. Consequently, they can use it online from another library. For illustration, In mostly developed countries people have internet access of library to read a book online if it is not available in that library. In Conclusion, public authority must provide high speed internet, software to libraries.