Nowadays some older people choose to live in the retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development

It is quite common for people to live in nursing homes after retiring, and someone thinks it is negative, However, I believe staying in retirement centres improves their overall well-being and relieves their children's burden. On the one hand, living in retirement communities improves seniors' healthy conditions. Because they are living with many agemates in those places where they could socialize as well as do many kinds of activities with their peers, such as playing games, watching TV, and doing exercises, which result in better overall wellbeings. By contrast, the elderly living with their families has fewer opportunities for socializing, playing games and exercising. For example, scientists from UBC had been tracking thousands of retirees and data had shown that the average lifespan of those staying in those centres was longer than the ones living with their children, and it has proved that staying in long-term care centres is the best way for their retired lives. On the other hand, elderly people living in long-term care facilities are less likely to rely on their children. Because they are looked after by professionals in nursing homes who are well-trained and qualified, so their offspring only need to visit them on weekends only. Therefore, it could significantly reduce their kids' responsibilities so that they could have sufficient time to work or look after their families. For instance, in Canada, most seniors stay in retirement facilities and don't want to interfere with their offspring's life. In conclusion, although someone contends that seniors are better off living within the wall of their homes, staying in long-term care facilities is a better choice which helps them stay healthy and avoid bothering their offspring.