Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate over how people should help others in need is ongoing, with some viewing them merely as people should donate to national and international charities, while others argue that it is better to give help and support directly to those in need. Both perspectives have valid points and understanding these viewpoints is crucial in forming a balanced opinion. Initiating with the points supporting the first school of thought, firstly, supporting people in need in a direct way is more effective. The people who support this say that, it can prevent charities from stealing and using money donated in an appropriate way. For example, there was an incident where a major charitable organisation had used donations personally not sending them to people suffering from poverty and lack of water. Thus directly helping them would be a significant method to prevent these crimes. Also, donors can bond with people they helped and make relationships by sending what they made or letters. People who actually became friends with people they donated to were proud of themselves and were touched when they received things back. On the contrasting side, people who hold another viewpoint say that charities can use money more effectively to help others. People having a hard time due to a lack of resources like medication and water have a high possibility of being unable to get an education. Therefore they would be innocent in knowing ways how to protect themselves and improve their life quality. In addition, many people give money to charitable organisations as it is more trustworthy than other methods. In my opinion, the most effective way to help people in need is supporting them directly rather than donating to the charity as bonding with them can influence donors in a positive way and is clear to see how they are affected by the donation.