The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that teamwork skills could be best instilled through many sporting activities, and therefore, team sports are the most suitable way to teach young students how to cooperate with one another. Although recognizing the importance of sports, I contend that its adverse impacts are irrefutable and that there are other better solutions. Team sports could boost students ’ sense of community, and then encourage them to harmoniously connect with their peers. In other words, every sporting activity is goal-driven, and therefore, players engaging in a game have to collaborate smoothly with their teammates while keeping the ultimate goal on their horizon. Such an ability to work together towards a mutual target sharpens essential communication skills, which are attributable to their promoted cooperation with other friends in the long run. However, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of sports itself, with many notorious cases of excessive competitiveness when players become too aggressive towards opponents, who are also their peers at school. The aforementioned counterproductive effect(s) brought by sports makes it seem not a potential method to help children become cooperative. With that said, there are many school activities that can teach cooperation skills to youngsters. Firstly, students can pick up skills from many extracurricular activities. More specifically, simply by participating in many cleaning activities such as mopping classrooms' floors or sweeping spider webs, students are unintentionally incorporating with their friends without worrying about being victorious. Secondly, holding field trips is another viable solution to not only establish a robust rapport between students but also foster essential soft skills including cooperation skills in young students. For example, a treasure hunt - a common game usually included in many school expeditions, offers a chance in which students can together collaborate with their friends to decipher a series of hints leading them to the hidden prize. Lastly, regarding academic activities, if youngsters are assigned to large group assignments, they may manage to learn how to construct ideas, respect that of others and mediate differences arising during brainstorming sections. To conclude, due to the aforementioned points, I would contend that sports are not the best way to educate students to be cooperative and that other school activities prove superior to sports in similar terms.