Some people argue that if children behave badly they parent should accept responsibility for the behaviour of children. Do you agree or disagree.

There is contention on whether parents of delinquent juveniles should be held accountable for the actions of their children and be punished for it. I disagree on this matter. Instead of transferring the blame to them when kids behave poorly, I believe that at a very young age, they already have the freedom and the ability to make decisions of their own. With that being said, they should learn to be made accountable for their choices and actions, so that they will grow up having the burden of responsibility and know that there are certain consequences towards unwanted acts. Children have free will. They are able to make choices, rationalize and be held liable for the results of their own deeds and parents, on the other hand, have the responsibility of teaching them right and wrong, guiding them in making good and sound choices in life and showing that all things have karma, both good and bad. For instance, a parent can only warn the child that the chair is high and if he or she moves a lot she might fall and get hurt. The kid can choose whether or not to heed the warning given to them but getting hurt is the consequence of not listening. By experiencing the results of their decisions, they will learn from that experience and build a character out of it. In contrast, children who are not held liable for their actions early in their lives will grow up thinking that the world owns them and blaming others instead of themselves. Entitledness, self-centeredness, lack of maturity and empathy are characteristics of spoiled individuals raised in a home where parents lack discipline in this area. To conclude, children should be answerable for their own behaviour and be punished accordingly while parents should only be obligated to teach, guide and love them while moulding kids into adults that will contribute to a better society.