Some people think the money spent on developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the amount of money spent on space travel has been increasing to develop more new technology, and opponents believe that the money should be invested in other sectors in order to fully utilize the investment. In my opinion, there are several reasons why I do not agree with the statement. First and foremost, space exploration has boosted scientific research. The money spent on space tourism is the key for scientists to invent new technology, which may also lead other industries to work with the space industry on research and development. For instance, smartphones, cameras, software, and robots are developed in the space travel sector. Besides, space exploration can create lots of jobs that help millions of people around the world find jobs in the space industry. To further illustrate, engineers, space designers, and trainers are all in high demand. Hence, when there are more job opportunities available in the space sectors, the unemployment rate will decrease, thus boosting the country's economy. By contrast, some critics argue that the government should spend money in the public sector instead of on space tourism. It is true that the money spent in public sectors such as transportation, maintenance of public infrastructures, and education will benefit the masses. To quote an example, the government could utilize the money to enhance the education system so that more kids had the chance to get a better education. The money should also be spent on upgrading public facilities like hospitals, police stations, and train stations, which could greatly improve the citizens' quality of life. Furthermore, these funds should be used to subsidize the low-income population so that they can at least get a decent meal, potentially reducing the occurrence of social issues in a country. In conclusion, the government can spend money in the private or public sectors in a variety of ways. However, I think the money spent on space travel is reasonable, and the government should continue to invest as it is part of its contribution to humanity.