More and more people are moving to big cities these days. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city

In the modern epoch, life has become more complicated, and standards of lifestyle have become materialistic. Nowadays, people prefer to live a better life in big cities. This essay attempts to briefly compare the pros and cons of living in a large city. To begin with, the pros of living in a big city make everything easily accessible. Supermarkets are available on almost every street. An individual can visit the nearby markets to get any desired product. Moreover, big cities have extraordinary education and healthcare system. For example, according to reports by the Punjab healthcare department, more than 70% of hospitals in Punjab are located in big cities while on the other hand, 60% of the village population have to travel more than 20 km for a basic medical checkup. Lastly, Government spends a large portion of the budget on infrastructure development in big cities to promote investment and tourism as compared to small towns. For this reason, big cities provide more career opportunities and better transport systems. With every advantage, there are underlying disadvantages. On one hand, people living in big cities spend most of their money on unnecessary objects by giving them the name of luxury. On the other hand, villagers spend more time with their family and friends. Recently, exponential population growth was observed in big cities resulting in a lack of proper shelter and food. For instance, overpopulation in Singapore has caused inflation, and the prices of property rent and food have risen above the reach of a poor man. To conclude, I must have to accept the fact that despite having some benefits such as access to schools, roads and health facilities is effortless in big cities, the high cost of living restricts some people from attaining these luxuries.