Some people believe that a college or university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these views. Which view do you agree with? Explain why.

People learn throughout their entire lives. They constantly improve their knowledge and development. I think that a college or university education should be available to all students because every person has the right to choose the way to self-perfection. Below, I will give some of my reasons to support my position. First of all, every person should have the chance to get a higher degree and gain new knowledge and experience. However, some people believe that higher education should be available only to good students. I think it is silly. It is like making unavailable travelling for one who does not have IQ high enough. Second of all, some young people do not do well at school but they have great personalities and the ability to learn. They are self-confident, persistent, and patient. With these qualities, they can get higher grades than their classmates who are talented but lazy. Imagine for example situation when a teenager gets high grades because his or her parents constantly make him or her study and help to do most of the homework. In this,case a child does very well at school but I think a college can show the opposite results. Finally, it is discrimination against students to make available higher education only for good ones. So, if a student does poorly and gets low grades he/she should be sent down. But if a person was never given a chance to try himself/herself at college, what to do in this case? To sum up, I think that all young people should have the chance to get a higher education. To take or not this chance must be up to them.