Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

In recent times, there are many animals that are endangered. Most of them are caused by humans that are irresponsible for nature. In my view, this is a critical issue and prevention acts should be instated immediately. There are several solutions that can be initiated as promptly as possible, namely raising global awareness and government interventions. Animal extinction is always initiated by human greed. We are indeed encouraged to explore and use everything on earth as resources including wildlife. However, this privilege is misused most of the time. Hunting and fishing, for instance, are sometimes overdone because of the temptation of earning more profit. In addition to human's thirst for money, there is also a knock-on impact from other human activities that causes certain species to face extinction. The habitats of wildlife are severely damaged or even completely gone because of the raising temperature in Antarctica, or another example is the endangered turtles and other sea life because of the immense amount of trash that is being thrown into the sea. Immediate action should be taken to prevent more species to be endangered. Firstly, people should start with themselves. They should raise awareness of this issue themselves, and spread the word to others. For example, social media is a powerful way of communicating endangered wildlife. The more people are aware of the issue, the more actions can be taken. Next, people should reduce the use of plastics, fossil fuels and other non-eco-friendly resources. This way, less trash is disposed of into the sea and climate change can be suppressed. Moreover, the government should also perform some interventions. More money should be invested in eco-friendly energy sources, and they should invest in recycling factories to reduce waste. These are, however, long-term solutions. It may take some time before the impact can be seen. Therefore, we should start with ourselves. In conclusion, endangered animals are caused by humans. They do not respect the privilege of harnessing nature and let greed take over them. Some preventions can be taken immediately, and the change starts from our own awareness of this issue.