Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of this type of shopping outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last years, people have got more confident and familiar with going shopping on the internet in a large portion of the world, but this approach has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of buying things on the internet and provide logical conclusion. The two main advantages of the internet industry are the quick delivery of any kind of product and the increase in competition and lowering of prices. Firstly, people spend money on a wide range of services and goods, including hotels, books, furniture and doing this thorough the internet guarantees in many cases to receive the item immediately or at most the day after the transaction. For example, the most famous internet vendor, Amazon, can deliver a book in a day. Secondly, the internet market is extremely wide and accessible to loads of people around the world and this affects and increases the competition due to a larger demand. It results in lowering of prices. However, buying things on the internet also has some major disadvantages like purchases made from vendors less reliable and frauds in payment transactions. Whenever someone loads the search of a service or a good on the internet, on the thousands of vendor websites, it should be paid attention to and be made an accent on the buyers feedbacks in order to have a more clear understanding of the supplier reliability. What’s more, some vendors do not provide options to the payment through the credit card and this lack of alternatives could, sometimes, lead people to payment frauds or uncomfortable situations like this. As far as I am concerned, a careful, precise and proper approach to the internet in general can eliminate these advantages. To conclude, although buying things on the internet has certain disadvantages like vendor less reliable and frauds in payment transaction, it has an extremely positive impact on the market competition and provides lower prices. I believe that these benefits of the internet platforms outweigh its drawbacks.