In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It seems to be a popular trend that all advertisements of companies now always focus on new features of their products. This trend is attributable to some key reasons and I firmly believe this is completely a positive trend. To begin with, the high market competitiveness level is the most essential factor leading to this trend. It is apparent that unique selling points are the key to success for all companies in tandem with the dramatic increase in market competitiveness. Specifically, in the past, many businesses only concentrated on manufacturing due to the fact that the supply always did not meet the demand. However, nowadays, there is a multitude of products and services with a range of brands for customers to choose from, so advertising new and special features is considered to be an effective way to be popular all over the market. This can demonstrate the reason why many corporates want to provide their customers with information about new features in their advertisements. Besides, I suppose this is a positive trend because of some key rationales. First and foremost, this way of advertising can help provide more meaningful information for customers to make purchases. To be more specific, when customers have a clear understanding of products and services appearing on the market, they can obviously have better choices based on rational consideration. Furthermore, it can be said that promoting new features is completely an incentive for the development and improvement of not only the advertiser but also other companies. Also, this results in incremental innovations among companies, from which customers significantly benefit. Based on the aforementioned reasons, I firmly support the positive trend that more and more companies emphasize new features in their advertisements. In conclusion, the high rate of market competitiveness is a vital factor leading to the fact that there are an increasing number of corporations that want to show new features in their advertisement. Thanks to the many benefits for both the market and customers, I strongly suppose this is a positive trend.