Some people say that the educational success of a student is the result of the work of a good teacher. Others say it depends on the character of the student. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is said that the educational achievement of a student is dependent on how much effort a teacher puts. However, some people argue that the attitude of the student is more important. In my opinion, I believe that both the teacher and the student needs to be in the right mindset in order to unlock a student's full potential. Teachers play a very vital role in the growth of a child. They are in charge of teaching the students and allocating them the necessary resources in order for them to pass their curriculum. With proper guidance and mentorship, students are able to understand new information and concepts in classrooms so that they are well-equipped with the necessary knowledge to pass exams and excel academically. A prime example would be a high school in Malaysia where they enrol students that did not do well in their exams. However, with strict principles and values set by the teachers, many students were able to turn over a new leaf and perform well academically. Since then the school has produced a lot of successful students who have done very well in society. That being said, the work of a teacher is only efficient if the student is willing to listen to their advice. Students may find it hard to follow instructions from adults who are not their parents. It may take them a while to find the mindset and be willing to take in instructions or feedback from others. Hence, they are able to take constructive criticism or suggestions to heart and find different ways to improve in their studies so that they can get the best outcome possible. For instance, prestigious schools take in students who have achieved the highest grades in their recent exams. But there are still students who do not do well for themselves after graduation despite being in an environment that is catered for them to be successful. This shows that students need to pull their own weight as well in order to score well on their tests. In a conclusion, I think that teachers must ensure that their work is of the finest standards and students must be diligent in their studies in order for students to do well academically.