Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements, for instance, TV commercials, product placements in movies and print ads, are glutted with people’s lives and subtly convince them to act. However, while I believe that ADs help people free to choose, I agree that they have had a feeding into unrealistic expectations and unnecessary demands. To begin with, adverts inform consumers about the impact of products, so they have more choices. One of the aspects is some company raise awareness of the environment, such as energy-saving appliance, or a product that uses recycled material. Moreover, consumers can easily find out if the company supports fair trade. Therefore, the features can allow customers to choose those that are causing less burden to the environment and benefit society. On the other hand, broadcast shape society in an unrealistic way. One negative aspect of advertising is commercial industry sets up a beauty standard for the public. They feature women very often using images of glamorous, skinny and flawless. The appearance of men tends to be muscular, tall and fit. This can influence how youngsters are critical of their body image and lead to low self-esteem for young adults. Furthermore, adverts create artificial wants that are not necessary. For example, some countries do not have holidays such as Christmas or Valentine’s day in their tradition, since movies create those holidays with plenty of decoration, gifting, and a romantic vibe. People start having those holidays as rituals. In conclusion, adverts certainly influenced the way individuals think of themselves; but, they also raise awareness of environmental issues and social problems. Hence, I partly disagree with the argument that advertisements discourage people from being unique.