Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether university education should focus exclusively on a student's main field of study or include a variety of other subjects. While specializing in one discipline provides a focused education and leads to expertise in that field, I believe that an interdisciplinary approach is more beneficial, as it promotes both personal development and professional growth. Specializing in one discipline has many benefits. Firstly, it allows students to study the field thoroughly and without distractions. Compared to students taking the multidisciplinary learning approach, these students have more time and resources to invest in their skill mastery. This overall results in better job expertise and a brighter career trajectory. Take computer science. The prerequisites for the major themselves include at least three to five core subjects which can be very challenging to master for many, let alone the main course program. Interdisciplinary learning, after all, does not suit everyone, and imposing it on all students might lead to emotional burnout. However, I agree that a well-rounded learning approach is more relevant in today's competitive job market. Students learning a range of disciplines as part of their study program are better equipped with multifaceted knowledge and adequacy, which signal their versatility and competence. Not only do they gain comprehensive education, but also they learn how to manage their stress and time while multitasking. This is exactly what employers deem as key in employees. Additionally, broader skill sets mean more opportunities to secure a job, marking fewer concerns about job loss or unemployment in the future. In conclusion, while I contend that a university education with an extensive focus on one discipline fosters in-depth knowledge and expertise, I believe a cross-disciplinary learning approach has more benefits in today's fast-paced job