In many parts of the world people do research in family history. Some people believe research on previous generation to be useful while others say that it is better to focus on present and future generation.discuss both views and show your opinion.

t is controversial that research on the past record of the family is more helpful than information about current and future generations. I partially support the latter view, for more trustworthy data obtained to improve individual lives regardless of the fact that past history can reveal a certain pattern of illness, helping people to cope with it in advance. On the one hand, research on past history is beneficial as it allows people to find a common tendency of some diseases in their family. In other words, people are able to be better prepared to reduce the risk of getting some illness as they are more cautious about them when they acknowledge a higher tendency of their family getting a particular health problem. For instance, the examination of the past family record which demonstrated more likelihood of breast cancer has encouraged me to go to a hospital for a regular medical check-up. Furthermore, this not only allowed me to recognize my current health condition but also detect a possible sign of the disease at an earlier stage, increasing more chances for cure and survival. On the other hand, studying for present and future generations contains some advantages since the information is more relevant and reliable than the one obtained from the past. Indeed, a result from a test in a womb to examine potential health risks of a baby allows doctors to detect signals of some physical and mental problems before he or she is born at a higher rate at 80% in contrast to merely less than 30% from the past examination. Moreover, the careful research on blood, as well as structures of organs and bones of an infant makes it possible for medical staff to take appropriate methods, making parents better prepared for a potential disease of their baby. Therefore, current and future research is more reliable as it reduces their anxieties and shock originating from their ignorance. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the study for current and future people is more significant as it provides dependable information, with which people can make a better preparation and take an initial approach. However, research on past family records suggests a general tendency of some hereditary diseases, raising their sense of caution to prevent it immediately.