Investment in local amenities such as leisure centres is the best way for the government to foster a good community spirit. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Currently, there are many ways to increase a good community spirit among the neighbours and investing in leisure centres is one of the best decisions for the government. Personally, I completely agree with the statement given and I believe that building partnerships could be another effective measure to achieve community spirit. Leisure centres are sites where people can build good relationships with other neighbours, talking about their life, sharing problems, debating about community issues but also playing healthy hobbies. For example, by spending time in these centres, people can enjoy a safe leisure time, decreasing activities such as drug consumption or traffic. In addition, having these places, the confidence in the government increases by the neighbours causing a direct benefit to the government. Another measure that the state should set up could be funding the creation of partnerships, where communities can discuss concerns they may have. This partnership can also be beneficial for the state because if the community has the power to solve some problems with the funding received, they can improve their own facilities and solve issues. For instance, if there are some roads that are in bad condition, the partnership could solve this problem by hiring a specific professional without disturbing the government. Furthermore, the spirit of community increases among the neighbours seeing that they belong to the same community and they need to preserve it. To conclude, investment in leisure centres as well as creating partnerships are two ways to increase community spirit among people and for these reasons, I completely agree with these measures that benefit both the government and the population.