While studying abroad provides an opportunity to broaden one’s experience, as also present the danger of letting influence from the host culture. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many argue that studying overseas is a privilege. However, some people see the possibility of merging cultures as a disadvantageous outcome of such an experience. I totally disagree with this view and I will present below two positive aspects of mixing cultures. Getting in touch with different cultures is an enriching experience. One's knowledge will expand if one learns about the country's history, geography, traditions, etc. As a result, the individual will become more intelligent and interesting. For example, learning English or Spanish as a second language differentiates candidates seeking jobs and allows independency to communicate when travelling. The more one immerses oneself in a different culture, the more skills one will acquire. Living abroad helps young people mature when it comes to relationships since interacting with people from a different culture will increase one's levels of empathy. Because one wants to belong, he or she will notice more the different values and habits of local people in order to avoid offending them. For instance, the Japanese do not look into somebody's eyes when speaking to them as a sign of respect. However, they should do the opposite of that if they want to show respect for Australians. Therefore, students will eventually develop more social awareness and adaptability to different situations. Although some conservative people defend cultural pureness, I think that the more one's cultural repertory is mixed, the wiser one is. To sum up, this essay concluded that studying abroad is an excellent opportunity for anyone because it nurtures people professionally and personally.