Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, due to technological advances, including social networking platforms, communication is becoming easier and faster than ever. Some believe that social networking sites have a large number of detrimental effects on both individuals and society. I disagree with this view because these sites promote a flexible lifestyle and accelerate productivity at individual and social levels. Firstly, communication websites can benefit everyone. Many people are using social platforms in their everyday lives, leading to a flexible lifestyle with more leisure time. If there were no networking sites, for example, people would struggle to commute all day to meet others or to converse with their consumers rather than work during the daytime. As a result, there will be no sufficient time to spend quality time with their family or enjoy their lives. I think that communicating by using online websites has more advantages than disadvantages at an individual level. Secondly, these digital websites ensure people have more productive working time. For instance, social networking platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, and Google Meetings, allow us to learn from professionals or to share our knowledge with others, leading to more productivity in society. From my experience, in our university, we usually use online meeting websites to discuss our assignments with our professors, which helps us get feedback quickly. Thus, I assume that these social networking sites alleviate people’s work effectiveness and productivity. In conclusion, using online communication platforms is a positive effect on having a flexible lifestyle and increased social productivity. I believe we could use these sites better to improve our living and working conditions.