Nowadays in some countries children are given fewer responsibilities compared to the past. Some people believe it is a positive development while other argue otherwise. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

Children, nowadays, are involved more in play and less in responsibilities than ever before. Some people argue that it has a negative impact on little minds while others state otherwise. This essay will elaborate deeply on both standpoints alongside presenting my own opinion. Those who agree that having fewer responsibilities is a positive development have a point. To start with, kids will have ample amount of time to enjoy themselves. For example, they can enjoy playing games outside or with friends without having to worry about their household duties, which will eventually lead to better mental and physical development. Without a doubt, children at a young age are meant to enjoy more than being responsible, after all, they have to be responsible growing up. Therefore, handing them fewer duties will be a positive development. Despite having numerous advantages, I believe that having fewer duties will impact children negatively. First of all, the foundation of children's personality is laid down at an early stage of life. Carrying no obligations not only makes them careless but also might develop an unresponsible attitude which is hard to mend later. Furthermore, essential skills of life such as looking after themselves and their belongings should be taught at a younger age so that the children can become self-dependent and confident. To conclude, although there are valid concerns about having fewer obligations as a positive development, I think that the advantage of being responsible at a young age is far greater. Thus, In my opinion, this should be considered a negative development.