Many people believe that it is easier to have a healthy lifestyle in the countryside. Others believe that there are health benefits of living in cities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ on whether urban or rural living is more conducive to a healthy lifestyle. Although the former yields certain benefits to its residents’ health, I believe that these are far outweighed by the latter. On the one hand, those who are in favour of living in the city would argue that metropolitan places provide people with access to organic food and state-of-the-art medical services. Regarding the former, stores selling organic products have become widely available in every corner of major cities. A good example of this is that Annam Gourmet stores located in some Vietnamese urban areas offer whole food to their customers. With regards to the latter, people’s overall well-being can be enhanced thanks to advanced facilities at many hospitals. Vaccines, for example, can protect individuals from being vulnerable to hazardous diseases such as H1N1 and varicella. On the other hand, the aforementioned advantages are far eclipsed by the ones gained in rural areas. While urban residents are susceptible to pollution, especially soot pollution caused by factories and high traffic volumes, people in the countryside coexist in a cleaner environment due to fresh air and the absence of pollution. Therefore, rural inhabitants encounter lower risks of chronic respiratory diseases and have better well-being. In addition, although the food in less developed regions is usually limited to locally grown options, it can be straightforwardly accessed due to lower costs compared to its counterpart in the city, where organic produce is often expensive and only affordable to the wealthy. Meanwhile, urban inhabitants in the middle class or under the poverty line have to consume processed food, however cheaper, affecting their internal organs. In conclusion, despite some advantages related to health offered by urban living, more important benefits in the countryside can be gained due to the absence of air quality deterioration and wider access to biological food.