Some poeple think universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is the belief some think that providing the required knowledge and skills which will be useful in a workplace should be done by the universities whereas others think that providing knowledge disregarding the usefulness of the course to get employment, is enough. However, I believe  that equipping a graduate to the world, outside of academics should be started ever since they enter the university premises. In this essay, I will discuss my opinion on the above-mentioned matter. Firstly, the goal of every graduate is either to become self-employed or get employed in a good company. As the competition in the job market increases significantly, the standards and the requirements of a company from their employees are also on the rise. For instance, 20% of graduates in Colombo University,Sri Lanka were at protest after not being able to secure a job for more than 05 years of graduation and when they were inspecting the reasons it was found that their curriculum was more focused on theoretical knowledge rather than hands-on practical approaches. This shows that in order to form a better candidate the university academics should include some time for practicals. Secondly, when the students are only given literal knowledge they will lack the ability to face challenges in reality. This is exemplified by the reason why medical students are required to complete a specific number of hours in clinical as well as learn through books and lectures. Many consultants in the medical field suggest, if students encounter a wide range of patients with multiple diseases, their knowledge will improve so that they become better doctors in the future. So completing their rotations while collaborating with practicals is normalized in every medical school around the world. In conclusion, universities should pay a great deal of attention to prepping a student for the challenges they face in their post-graduate job hunt. This will undoubtedly yield a much stronger and more challenging individual who would perform way past the expectations of companies.