Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recyclng is for the goverment to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Reduce, reuse and recycle is also known as the 3Rs in waste management and is a crucial topic discussed by many. Although recycling a good portion of waste was the ultimate goal, it still has not been achieved. Some states that if the government implement more rules, the amount of recycling could increase. I fully agree with the statement and in this essay, I will discuss how government involvement in lawmaking would be beneficial in changing the household waste recycling process. Firstly, imposing new tax laws for recycling and waste would drastically reduce the weight of rubbish per person. If people had to pay for the amount of waste they throw, they will try to reduce as much as they can. For instance, a small Korean village which had piles of garbage with no infrastructure or finance to recycle started a penalty fee method for the weight of garbage they threw. After a year of imposing this law and with the cooperation of villagers, they were able to reduce individual waste production by 90%. So this means, if we can push people to their boundaries, they will find new ways to reduce their waste and thus focus more on recycling. Later, the Korean government adopted this law for the whole country. Secondly, every school should include waste management and the 5S method in their curriculum which should be practised every day. In Japan, starting from kindergarten, the 5s method was embedded into children's lives and is practised around the whole country. Every household, shop or school set examples for children by showing various methods of recycling and it is evident by the results obtained after decades because Japan now stands as the world's cleanest country. In conclusion, when the government involves itself as a mediator to form laws to pressurize people to recycle, we will see a significant reduction in unrecycled wastage.