In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

People in the past used to purchase things as their duty, whereas today, more folks consider it a hobby, and they enjoy shopping. In my opinion, this is totally positive because this change of thinking can improve quality of life and can be used as a way of reducing stress from their daily lives. To start with, finding shopping enjoyable can enrich your life. This is because in this modern society, an increasing number of adults tend to deal with more burdens, such as taking care of their children and working as full-time workers, as well as looking after their parents. For those kinds of residents with burdens, buying what they want can be one of the curative ways to become optimistic about life, resulting in a better quality of life. According to a public opinion poll conducted by the NHK shopping programme in 2018, 80% of citizens aged from 20 to 80 in Tokyo felt more positive towards their life as they go shopping on a weekly basis, which consequently affected not only their private life but also their motivation for work. In addition, nowadays, there has been a wide variety of things at shops, ranging from food to cosmetics from all over the world, most of which were not available at a market in the past. When modern people with decent careers feel stressed out due to overworking, these new products can ease their mental fatigue, and they may end up buying the products. Some recent statistics provided by the Chinese government in 2023, said that more and more products show up in their markets every year in China, and 60% of Chinese residents go shopping five times a week after work to reduce stress, which makes their lives stress-free. To sum up, nowadays, a lot of individuals go shopping for their joy, while in the past, buying things was regarded as what they had to do. I strongly believe that this development is a positive thing, because shopping can help them gain optimism about their life and because it can also curb stress in their lives.