Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People have forgotten the importance of religious festivals. Instead, people only want to enjoy themselves during the festival period. I absolutely agree with this, as a community is losing the main reason behind why the festival is celebrated. First of all, traditional and religious festivals are the reason, people get to celebrate. Most of the people started following their own way of celebrating holidays. For instance, nowadays, nobody knows what is the importance of Christmas and why exactly it is celebrated. When Christmas arrives everybody thinks of a tree with lights and Santa Claus. Folks have forgotten the main reason behind it. To continue the legacy or trend it is very much important to have old people in the house so that they educate children about their culture. Secondly, lots of Indian cultures are prolonged nowadays, but the essence of that is missed. Not just children but also adults have failed to remember the main reason for celebrating any festival. For example, Diwali is celebrated in India in which, with the help of diyas and candles, darkness is removed. But children nowadays think that Diwali is all about bursting crackers and having sweets. Parents should take responsibility to educate their offspring about our rich cultural values. They should tell them stories about why we celebrate a particular festival. Thus, educating children with great cultural values will help them as well as they might convey them to future generations. In conclusion, I adhere that people somewhere are missing why the festivals are celebrated and they should overcome this situation by involving elderly people in the family and by educating their children.