Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There are two controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the role of old buildings. While some claim that it is indispensable that ancient houses be retained, others make a statement that they should not deter the progress of a country. From my viewpoints, each view has its own redeeming features, so it is optimal to combine those. Without a shadow of a doubt, preserving historical locations is of paramount importance. Because old buildings demonstrate classical characteristics of a country. For example, “Hanoi- 36 old streets”, lying in the heart of Hanoi. They were established in the feudal civilizations from the past, not only are they famous for a classical beauty, which a steady stream of advanced buildings cannot own, but they also signify the cultural identity of Hanoi from Vietnam. Hence, protecting ancient constructions play a paramount significant role. While the essence of conserving historical sites is widely acknowledged, it is not crucial for history to hinder the country’s growth pattern. Since a wealth of ancient buildings have a practically small size, which does not meet the ever-increasing living and working demands of citizens in this day and age. Hence, many high-rise buildings have been set up to satisfy houses and occupations. For instance, “Time City” and “Royal City” are some top-notch skyscrapers in Hanoi, they have been built in the place where some ordinary ones used to be. Both of them have fully lived up to the needs of residents about the space to live and to work. Thus, old buildings should be abolished to give their places for cutting-edge ones to meet houses and offices for citizens. To conclude, while some people assume ancient houses should be maintained, others say that it is imperative that modern ones substitute them to facilitate the development of a country.