Some people think that using mobile phones and computers has a negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children nowadays use mobile phones and computers much more often than the past. While I agree that this phenomenon will provide some benefits, I believe it will restrict young people’s skills development. On the one hand, smartphones and computers are attractive sources to improve one's reading and writing skills. Students are able to use these devices to gain these more efficiently. While they are doing school projects, they need plenty of information other than what they were taught at school. Instead of going to the library, they can attain knowledge by browsing a substantial amount of articles which will help to develop their reading and writing skills. On the other hand, using mobile phones and computers can bring negative effects to adolescents on the practice of reading and writing skills. The majority of young generations spend a lot of time to watch fast-paced contents on their phones and computers. For example, the most popular activity they enjoy is browsing short videos, which is a typical repersentative of passive entertaining. These videos only provide some fragments of an entire information that will only make youngsters get more distractive in enhancing their reading and writing skills. Moreover, these smart devices are usually capable with well-functioned auto-correct software. For instance, the Google doc has the feature call Change the form of the verb called show examples ‘spelling and grammar’, that helps users to correct their work. With these type of help, teenagers could be more reluctant in practing in their vocabulary and grammar, which could eventrually limit their ability in reading and writing. In conclusion, while I agree that using mobile phones and computers can improve the efficiency in gaining reading and writing skills, but I believe the time and the function they use should be controlled by their parents.