In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

With the technological advancements of our age, more and more people argue that the human driver will be replaced by an automated system in most vehicles. I believe that the implementation of driverless cars has more advantages than disadvantages, for both the transportation of the public and goods. The main benefit of implementing such technologies in transportation is the advantage of removing the human factor. Studies have shown that most car accidents are mainly caused by human error, be that the driver was distracted, drunk etc. Another reason in favour of implementation is the increased efficiency of the public transport web and the shrinkage of commute times. If all vehicles were to become driverless, they could communicate through integrated GPS and sensor technologies to adjust the flow of traffic, based on how saturated the roads were at any given moment. By having buses, trucks, and especially cars be driverless, accidents, as well as time spent in transportation, could be brought to a minimum. In contrast, a portion of the public does not trust this kind of technology. This could be due to a lack of understanding or involvement in tech advancements, or the impersonal and distant nature of automation. Another problem that could arise is the loss of relevant jobs, where many drivers could be unemployed. While these issues may be pressing for some, I believe that with a planned implementation, these issues could be minimized. In conclusion, while there may be some concerns about the implementation of driverless vehicles, it is clear that the advantages of these vehicles far outweigh the disadvantages. The increased safety and efficiency that they provide would make them a necessary step towards improving the quality of life for all people.