In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vechile will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Drivers in vehicles will be replaced with robots or computer programmes in the coming days. I would argue that the drawbacks exceed the benefits of this idea. The safety of the passengers should be taken into account while taking such decisions. In recent times, technology is growing very rapidly and has spread across all industries. One area where companies are planning to use the technology is in transport by introducing driverless motor vehicles. But this idea does not look feasible considering the safety of the people travelling in these vehicles. A computer or robot cannot think or act like a human being. It is just programmed to follow instructions. In case of emergency or any situation which requires human intervention cannot be handled by these programmes. For instance, when there is any technical problem with the traffic signals and if traffic police are giving hand signals, the robot might not be able to understand the signals and will not move forward. This will cause trouble to the passengers and also to the traffic on the road. There could be a few benefits on the contrary where this technology can be used to carry goods and in cases where much human interference is not required. It would be beneficial in railways or airways where one has to carry goods. In such,situations if there are any accidents also, there will be no loss of life. Another edge could be to use these driverless automobiles during wars and natural calamities. For example, during the 2019 floods in India, the government used programmed trucks which travelled through landslides and heavy rainfalls to carry food and other essential commodities to people stuck in the floods. In conclusion, I would argue that there is an edge to travel driven by human beings rather than those machines without drivers as programmes do not have the brain to react to emergency situations and cannot take a decision which could lead to safety issues for the commuters.