In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our arts such as musicians, painters, and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is observed that the advancement of science and technology has taken place around the world, yet certain artistic values are still seriously preserved. This is because the arts can teach people many things that cannot be explained and found by scientists and technicians. Language is one of the major arts that have persisted throughout history, each nation has its own jargon and grammar with unique features that are closely connected to its cultural identity. Vietnamese, for example, has been used by many poets to compose Nom poems, which are apparently distinct from those of western cultures, and they mark the literature-related talent of ancestors in Vietnam. Meanwhile, linguists and other scientists usually view human language as just a means of communication or a system of grammatical rules as well as lexis. Imagination is another ability that can be sustained and developed via arts. Although scientific research and technological equipment usually involve discovering several cognitive mechanisms responsible for imaginative thoughts, artworks not only are sources of human imagination but also incentivise individuals to imagine. “The Gleaners”, for instance, represents the viewpoints of those who live in the Realism period which is less emotional than Romanticists. As a result, such imaginative works of art can encourage people to gain deeper insights into the past. In conclusion, the development of science and technology, admittedly, has played a crucial role in many people’s lives, yet it cannot provide them with all the knowledge. Instead, certain parts of this understanding, especially language and imagination, can only be accounted for and conveyed by art.