Some people think it is more important for the government to spend more money promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illnesses than the treatment for people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Instead of allocating more money on the treatment of patients, some people suppose that government should attach great importance to the promotion of a healthy lifestyle for inhabitants, which can radically prevent illnesses. In my opinion, both of them are significant so government needs to invest funds correctly on these two aspects. Government should be responsible to promote a healthy lifestyle for citizens by some possible measures. First of all, the government could provide some dietary recommendations and guidelines including healthy dietary management, nutrition elementary knowledge and cooking guidance for dwellers. These suggestions can improve citizens’ awareness of a healthy life style, thus to some extent avoiding some unhealthy living habits. Once a healthy life style has been established, it can benefit people’s physical well-being and prevent some chronic diseases such as heart attack and high blood pressure. This results in the lower rate of contracting diseases, so hospitals would no longer face the stress of overwhelming patients. However, treatment for patients also indispensable. If patients are not able to receive immediate and effective treatment because of the poor medical services, mortality rate would increase, which poses threat to the development of a country. Therefore, government should allocate funds to improve health care system. For example, the research and development of drugs which aim to treat serious illnesses should be supported by the government. In conclusion, advocacy of healthy life and treatment for people who have been ill are both vital, which requires the government to achieve an equilibrium of funds to allocate these two public duties.