Some people believe that technological tools such body scanners and CCTV have significantly enhanced our safety and security, while others feel they have resulted in a loss of privacy. Do the benefits of these items outweigh their disadvantages?

Some people advocate using technological devices such as body scanners and CCTV in order to increase our safety and security while others claim that these devices can lead to a loss of their privacy. Personally, I am of the opinion that the disadvantages of using these tools are eclipsed by the beneficial effects that they can produce. On the one hand, the loss of privacy is caused by video surveillance. These machines are usually placed in public areas to record images and videos of the inhabitants. This personal information would be under the control of the authorities. Consequently, it is possible that the authorities misuse these data, leading to the leaking of personal info. For example, if the government do not use this data carefully, some hackers will hack the system and steal the data or even spread this info. Therefore, personal information can be leaked if the authorities use video surveillance in public areas. On the other hand, applying these technological applications have several advantages. Chief among these is that it can increase the satisfaction of the people because they feel safe and trust the authority. CCTVs can deter offences from doing some criminal activities and body scanners can prevent offenders from carrying guns. Another advantage is that the number of crimes decreases significantly. Installing surveillance tools in public places will deter lawbreakers from committing a crime. For instance, pickpocketing usually occurs in crowded places such as shopping malls, supermarkets, and cinemas, so the government usually install CCTVs in these areas to deter pickpockets. In conclusion, although using these technological devices causes the leaking of personal data, I still believe that the advantages of it are far more significant.