In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime is a major threat to any country. Unfortunately, in many countries, the crime problem is increasing significantly every year. This increase can be the result of many different problems. In the following essay I will outline the possible causes, and I will also try to identify solutions. It is certain that no human being wants to commit a crime, there must be at least one reason behind every instance of such behaviour. The first reason would be financial. The desire to make a quick buck tempts many people and causes them to embark on a criminal career. The second, equally important aspect is the lack of appropriate behaviour patterns and the ease of falling into so-called bad company. In the development of any human being, the environment is essential, and the lack of suitable people in the immediate environment makes it easier to commit crimes. In addition, the problem of addiction to drugs, for example, should also be borne in mind. Drug addicts may find themselves in a situation where, intoxicated of desperation, they will do anything to satisfy drug cravings. On the other hand, the problem of crime is not one-dimensional. Many people feel that their life situation leaves them with no other option but crime. Society needs to help in such situations, to develop people and their capacities, as this will be the most effective way to significantly reduce not only crime but also many other social problems. In conclusion, the problem of crime is a major societal challenge and regardless of the causes of crime, we all as a society need to sort it out together.