Some teenagers spend more time reading books, while others prefer to read online newspapers. The former group is likely to develop creative imaginations and have a much better grasp of language skills. Do you agree or disagree?

The significance of reading books has never been overlooked by any society. However, since the invention of TV sets, the habit of reading has been losing its popularity. While people can benefit from watching TV to some extent, I believe that it is reading that enhances our imagination and helps us acquire more language skills. Reading books is a great way to develop children’s intelligence and language skills. The major reason is that words enable readers to visualize what they read, and there is no restriction to / limit to such imaginative thinking. This subsequently enables book readers to assimilate information and build a world of fantasy. In addition, reading is an effective way of improving written language proficiency. The perfect example is that children who read extensively tend to have a higher level of writing skills than those who spend much of their time watching TV. Admittedly, watching TV can more or less make people knowledgeable and expressive. By watching different channels, viewers are likely to gain a wealth of information so that they can have a broader understanding of the world they live in. What is more, various TV programs are presented in dialects of various styles, and therefore watchers can effectively enlarge their vocabulary. However, the sounds and photographs on TV can harm people ’s imagination because when they watch a program, it is scientifically proven that their brain is hardly engaged. Consequently, this passive method of absorbing information undermines the intellectual development of the viewer in the long run. To summarize, people should be encouraged to read books rather than watch TV as it allows more freedom for readers to imagine and improve their linguistic abilities. Watching TV can also be a great way to increase people ’s knowledge, but people need to be mindful of the adverse impacts it has on them.