Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is stated by many that the main motto of publicity is to enhance the sales of commodities which is not much essential to humans. Although, few people argue due to some reasons and I certainly agree with the statement. On one side, a number of individuals believe that publication creators should target showcasing the authenticity of the item, which means displaying the original quality of the merchandise in the ads, rather than exaggerating it. The Lays potato chips, for example, have been criticised for showing their packets too unrealistic in the advertisements as compared to the real packets in which they are filled with 45% of the air in each. Likewise, It has been claimed by many that advertisers should focus more on the current market trends while launching their promotional ads. For Instance, Instagram is a platform on social media where users create funny reels and share them with each other. Some of the advertisers utilize trendy short clips combined with their promotion to captivate certain audiences. On the other side, the aforementioned goals rarely attract consumers' attention and can result in hiking the sales percentage. Meanwhile, sales targets and statistics which are considered important achievements contribute a big amount to the success of a brand. To simplify, Apple launched the new airpods pro 3rd generation which is nothing but a combo of 2nd generation and AirPods 3 pros, but, they advertised them in such a way that customers feel this commodity is superior as compared to the one they are using and it will deliver exceptional performance. All in all, I agree that the advertisement should sound appealing to consumers in order to be profitable in the market, which can be done by implementing the current trends and demonstrating the accurate quality which the commodities would deliver.