The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has an opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is often believed that the reach of technological advancements has been one of the reasons for creating a gap between people with different classes of income while others assert that technology is bringing the rich and poor people together. This essay shall discuss both views. In my opinion, I believe technology is creating differences between people with higher income and lower income. Technology has provided many opportunities for the inclusion of poor people in income -earning activities. Various job platforms have allowed unemployed people to know the employment available and grab the opportunities. For instance, there are applications where people can hire housemaids, which helps housewives to earn a certain level of income. In addition, awareness programs and training are run by different organizations. Also, organizations are providing donations and their products as a social responsibility to encourage the use of technology. There is a company in India which is providing convertible wheelchairs to specially-abled groups of people which can be used for transportation. This has allowed them to get involved in money-generating activities like the delivery of food. On the other side, the cost of technology is quite higher which may not be affordable for people with a low scale of earning. The major focus of poor people is on basic needs and there is a certain class of people who depend on earning a single day to fulfill their needs on same day. In the context of Nepal, the price of a smartphone starts from Rs. 10,000 which may not be affordable. Moreover, in this materialistic world, the success and hierarchy of individuals are compared based on material possession. The possession of cars, costly gadgets, and so on is considered rich. It is observed that students with such belongings are forming a group and bullying those who do not have one. In conclusion, though technological developments have brought innovations making the life of people easier and allowing platforms to earn money, other factors associated such as price and impression of people have been contributing to creating differences. The companies involved should focus on how all groups of people could be involved.