More and more people are using computers and electric devices to access information. Therefore, there is no need to print books, magazines, and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With smartphones, tablets and e-readers reaching mass adoption over the past few years, many have predicted that printed books would soon become a thing of the past. And while it’s true that electronic devices are more portable and can store more information, I don't agree with this notion and believe that ink and paper are still irreplaceable. The content of books, magazines and newspapers is more accurate. To illustrate, reputable newspapers and magazines undergo a rigorous fact-checking process to ensure the accuracy of the message they publish. This level of scrutiny is not always present in online media, where fake news and misinformation can spread quickly and easily. As a result, print media should still be trusted as a reliable source of information. Another factor worth mentioning is that digital document wears out easily. For example, a physical book could be passed down from 100 years ago and still be readable. However, if we do not actively tend our digital books they become unreadable very quickly. This is because both their formats and the digital media and electric devices they reside on will become outdated and obsolete over the years. To conclude, paper books are necessary for preserving knowledge across generations since they last longer than their digital counterparts. In addition, some people simply prefer the tactile experience of reading a physical book. For instance, in remote areas where the Internet and computers are not yet widespread enough, e-book penetration still trails that of printed ones by a wide margin, meaning that physical books are still the main carrier of knowledge. What’s more, reading on a screen for extended periods would cause eyes to become dry and sore, so to avoid digital eye strain, especially for kids, paper books should be encouraged more, since it is easier for people to focus on books than pixels on the screen. In conclusion, it’s true that electronic devices offer convenience and instant gratification to their readers, however, paper books, magazines and newspapers are also essential in providing people with reliable, long-lasting information. The tangible and enduring nature of print media means that it will always have a place in our lives.