Research shows that a lot of energy is saved if people spend a shorter time in the workplace. To save energy (e.g. gas, electricity etc.), some companies are closing down on one day per week. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Companies consume huge amounts of power in order to keep producing goods and services. Some argue that shutting down production could save a lot of energy, while the other side of the opinion is it would cause more havoc than benefits. In this essay, we will look into the details of its pros and cons. One side of the thinking would agree that it could be seen as a viable solution to conserve energy. This is due to the fact that organizations have an extremely high need for power. For example, if ten machines are running to complete a different tasks, then halting all those could save energy for many homes. This also means fewer cars on the streets, lower carbon levels in the air, and saving fuel for the future. On the other side, it would lead to a shortage of essential everyday products. This is because fewer working days mean less production which could eventually lead to an economical breakdown. For Instance, the cost of dairy products could inflate as it would cost extra money to store items for the day off. This will also affect citizens' ability to afford goods and services. Moreover, it would shrink the pockets of common people if they are being paid hourly and that is mostly the case in production houses. In conclusion, Although cutting down on a workday looks like a logical solution for saving energy, It would definitely lead to a situation of economic meltdown. Nonetheless, tweaking these attributes could help decision-makers come up with the right solution.