Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some contend that unlawful music downloads have negative consequences on musicians, whilst others hold the view that they have minor to nonexistent consequences on music production. This essay will discuss both views in the upcoming paragraphs before drawing any judgements.t To commence with the opinion of those who believe that the music trade is being greatly impacted by this phenomenon. Music is being downloaded via the internet because it is the most inexpensive way to have a collection of your favourite music. Consequently, it has an enormous impact on the earning source of the artists as people do not tend to purchase CDs or DVDs anymore, which are the major sources of their income. For example, a survey conducted by Cambridge University discovered that more than 95% of youngsters do not buy CDs and DVDs because they feel that it is not a convenient way to enjoy music. On the other hand, there are those who argue that even if the music is being downloaded illegally by some lawbreakers, the artists are still earning via the internet as the number of downloads is increasing and the internet organisations have to pay revenue to the copywrite person. Thus, it has a minor impact on the music business. To illustrate, if a YouTube channel has more than 1,000 subscribers and more than 5,000 views the creator can begin earning by uploading videos, likewise, musicians have also YouTube channels. Hence, they have already had an excellent source of income which covers loss by illegal downloading. In a nutshell, due to accessibility and convenience people prefer to download music from free sources, which diminishes the income of its creators. However, they are earning from other sources on the internet such as YouTube. Even though there are many alternative ways to earn money on the internet, I believe that the music industry is being greatly impacted by illicit downloads because it has a huge impact on sales of physical music devices.