Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not have strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether governments should restrict the age of drinking alcohol. This essay will explore two points of view and clarify my opinion in the following paragraphs. Those who advocate the government should impose restrictions on the drinking age may put forth the following argument. Children or teenagers are in a crucial period of growth, both physically and mentally. If they were allowed to drink without any limitations, their physical and mental well-being would be heavily damaged, for example, suffering from liquor addiction or alcoholism. More than that, most minors do not have sufficient money to buy drinks all the time, so they may do something illegal, ranging from stealing to committing crimes to obtain liquor. For instance, we can see from the news and documentaries that teenagers very easily become targets for drug trafficking and prostitution. However, opponents to this way of thinking have their own opinion, which they can also easily justify. Some countries believe that people should not be limited in terms of drinking, especially the younger generation. People in these age groups are often rebellious, if society used laws to prohibit them from drinking liquor, they might feel that their free wills were not valued or respected by the authorities, thus making them drink more often, and more serious rebellious behaviours would be caused, which would lead to more and more serious problems, such as drug abuse. In conclusion, based on the above evidence and analysis, while no restrictions will make a small number of teenagers feel respected, drinking will be detrimental to their well-being and is irreversible. These drawbacks will seriously damage the future of the country and the development of the whole society as well.