Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters hat affect them. Discuss both and give your own opinion.

People have a myriad of views about whether kids should make their own decisions on a daily basis. Although there are some good arguments in favour of without the right of making judgments at a young age, I personally believe that it brings beneficial effects to children in terms of all-rounded development. In this essay, I will probe into both sides and explain my own perspective. To begin with, of all reasons why youngsters should not be allowed to make their own preferences, probably the most significant factor is that the young generation might not know how to consider others' feelings. It is true that the youths are still at a young age and at a developmental stage, given that with the opportunities to make up their minds in all aspects of life, they might create a self-centre mindset as they do not know the importance of stepping into others' shoes and only consider their own preferences. For instance, when parents allow their children to choose the cuisine for dinner, it is no doubt that kids will tend to choose the meals they enjoyed, such as fast food or snacks without taking other relatives into account. It reveals that this action would definitely hinder the teen's growth. Despite the aforementioned reasons, I concur that making decisions by the youth is more beneficial for their personal development. The first idea popping into my mind is that it helps boost their decision-making skills. As we all know, soft skills, like decision-making and critical thinking skills are indispensable to youngsters and are crucial to their personal growth. Without a shadow of a doubt that these skills can be trained through making their own options, and in turn, can then apply in the workplace, for example with enormous experience in making choices, they can then come up with a perfect conclusion within a short period of time as well as familiar with the criteria they should be sleeping on. In contrast, if parents do not allow their children to make choices on a daily basis, children will lose such golden opportunities to unleash their potential as well as gain experiences, which is beneficial for them when they enter society and start working. On the whole, under no circumstance should we overlook the fact that these actions could help train the youth to become better individuals in the future. In a nutshell, I entirely believe that kids should be provided learning opportunities by making their own choice in daily life in order to increase their competitiveness in the workplace, regardless of the risk of the formation of self-centred mindsets.